First of all, I’d like to apologize for publishing my last blog from an antiquated page. One that I had decided to never use again. I suppose that’s the price I pay for not fully dismantling it.

But, burnout. Clearly, I’m experiencing it right now, or else it wouldn’t really be on my mind.

In the past three days, I’ve powered through narrating three books. On top of that, I have to set aside a certain amount of time for marketing, networking, auditioning, gear/ studio improvement shopping, and being available to take Richard wherever he needs to go, because we’re a one-car family. Add to that that we just adopted a kitten, named Jynx, who happens to be a very expressive, athletic, LOUD Bengal. All of these factors make recording, and setting time to record, a challenge.

So, after booking an entire series of novels to narrate, plus three other titles from other publishers, plus volume three in a series of novels I began to narrate over a year ago… I should have done some more thinking, been a little more considerate of my situation, and that of my clients. Because now, I can barely work effectively, and when I do, right now, it’s in very small snippets, because I’ve pushed myself to a sort of stress cliff.

But this, as freelance artists, is our paradox: we want to accept as much work as we can, so we have a steady stream of income, and our brand and name get out in the public eye. The other side of this is that, once we’ve put our bran/ name out in the public eye, and have accepted a ton of projects, our reputation suffers once we start faltering on deadlines, or on quality of work, because we discover we simply haven’t alotted enough time in the day (or night) to do all the work we’ve signed up to do.

This is where the power of saying NO comes in handy. You have to put your excitement about getting all this work aside, you have to put your ego aside, and you have to realize there will be more work, other projects, other opportunities, and if you accept too much work, you run the risk of damaging yourself, and your brand.

That’s all I’m going to say about this for now. Immediately, I’m simply happy I found this, my “real” blog page again, and hope you guys get into reading it again, as well.

May you have a blast this weekend, NOT a burnout!

